Our Foremothers

Each year at Kalamazoo the Society for Medieval Feminist Scholarship honors and celebrates the work of a recently retired scholar through sessions devoted to their interests and a luncheon. The Foremothers initiative honors those whose work forms the foundation of feminist scholarship today and ensures that our mission is passed on to the next generation of scholars.

Foremother Honorees:

2022 Bonnie Wheeler
2021 Roberta Krueger
2020 Sharon Farmer
2019 Elizabeth Robertson
2018 Chris Africa
2017 Constance Berman
2016 E. Jane Burns
2015 Annemarie Weyl Carr
2014 Helen Damico
2013 Jane Chance
2012 E. Anne Matter
2011 Joan Ferrante
2010 Pamela Sheingorn
2009 Joan Cadden
2008 Susan Mosher Stuard
2006 Mary Martin McLaughlin (1919-2006)

Foremothers in Medieval Feminist Publishing: Jerry Singerman and Ruth Karras

The Foremothers Fund allows scholars to honor teachers, mentors, colleagues, and friends who have played an important role, not only in our own lives, but in bringing to light the lives of medieval people and issues. Contributions to The Foremothers Fund support the annual Foremother Fellowship, a monetary and mentoring award given each your to a graduate student.  No gift is too small.

Alternately, checks may be sent to the address below. If your gift honors an individual please send an e-mail to Amy Vines indicating the name of your honoree and whether or not you wish to remain anonymous. (anvines@uncg.edu)

Dr. Amy Vines
Department of English
University of North Carolina Greensboro
3143 MHRA Building
1111 Spring Garden St.
Greensboro, NC 27412